/build/static/layout/Breadcrumb_cap_w.png

Using cacls in VB

In a followup on this topic, i ran into some issues.. I found out that cacls is the way to go about when settings rights on files locally. Unfortunately, SMS 2003 seems top be unable to distribute using CMD's, so i'm going about using a VBS. This is what i have so far:

Dim WshShell
Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")

On Error Resume Next

WSHShell.Run"C:\WINDOWS\System32\cacls.exe C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe /E /P USERS:n", 1,true
WSHShell.Run"C:\WINDOWS\System32\cacls.exe C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe /E /P POWER USERS:n", 1, true
Wscript.Quit(0)

Only problem is, when using cacls, the path (or file) must be between quotes. ("") That doesn't work with the VB script.. The WSHShell.Run need to be between quotes. Any way around this? I could try to use variables, but i'm still a newbie to VB so any help would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks!

0 Comments   [ + ] Show comments

Answers (4)

Posted by: yarborg 18 years ago
Blue Belt
I gave up on using the shell with command lines. I'm sure there is some syntax guru out there that can figure it out. I actually use WMI for this kind of stuff because I think it's easier and once you start learning it there really is a lot more you can do. Try the code below and see if that works:

Option Explicit
Dim objWMIService, objProcess, objCalc
Dim strShell, objProgram, strComputer, strExe

strComputer = "."
strExe = "cacls.exe" & " " & "C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe /E /P USERS:n"
' Connect to WMI
set objWMIService = getobject("winmgmts://"_
& strComputer & "/root/cimv2")

' Obtain the Win32_Process class of object.
Set objProcess = objWMIService.Get("Win32_Process")
Set objProgram = objProcess.Methods_( _
"Create").InParameters.SpawnInstance_
objProgram.CommandLine = strExe

'Execute the program now at the command line.
Set strShell = objWMIService.ExecMethod( _